Illinois Speeding Laws
We are Illinois lawyers, who since 2001, have been offering legal guidance and attorney referrals. Call our office at 312-346-5320 or 800-517-1614 to speak with an attorney for FREE and get pointed in the right direction. Or you can fill out our contact form to tell us about your situation and we will contact you. We can't promise a result, but we do guarantee that we will be honest and treat you like a family member or friend.
If you are convicted of a speeding violation, you are at a greater risk of having your license suspended or revoked, your insurance rates may increase, there will be fines, and there's the possibility of jail time depending on how fast you were going.
Your goal is probably to deal with it and get on with your life, but make sure you aren't making things worse by acting too quickly. For example, don't plead guilty when you don't need to. We know you want to move on, and by referring you to an attorney who can handle your speeding ticket quickly and successfully, we can help you do that.
If your speeding ticket is something you can handle on your own without an attorney, we will let you know. However, if it's more than a minor violation, or if it's your second or third ticket within a short time, we'll likely recommend talking to an attorney can help you avoid large fines or loss of your driving privileges. Minor speeding tickets generally are petty offenses, not criminal offenses. These are tickets for going up to 29 mph over the limit. If you are speeding 30 mph or more over the limit, it can be charged as a misdemeanor, which is a criminal offense.
For a minor speeding ticket, you have a few options. You can pay the fine (which is basically pleading guilty), choose to attend traffic school to avoid a conviction, or request a court date to challenge the ticket in court. Be aware that pleading guilty by paying the fine means a conviction on your driving record. If you get more than three convictions in 12 months, your license will be suspended (more than two in 24 months if you're under 21). If your goal is to get the ticket dismissed or reduced, you should talk to an attorney. You have the right to attempt this on your own, but it's not usually successful without hiring someone who knows the system.
For a major speeding ticket, you are going to have to go to court, and you are looking at a possible criminal conviction. Speeding 30-39 mph over the limit is a Class B misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of $1,500. Speeding more than 40 mph over the limit is a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of $2,500. For a first offense, you should be able to avoid jail time, but if it were us, we'd hire an experienced traffic defense attorney to make sure. Even if a ticket can't be dismissed, an attorney may be able to get the violation reduced to something less serious.
Court supervision is considered a good outcome in many cases, if you're eligible (depends on the offense and your record). If you don't get another ticket during the period of supervision, then it won't go on your record. More serious violations are not eligible for supervision, such as speeding 40 mph over the limit or more.
We'll always be honest about whether we think you need an attorney, and if you do, our goal is to recommend the best attorney for your case. For example, we'll ask you where you got the ticket. A local attorney for something like this is key. A local traffic attorney with a good reputation will have a working relationship with other attorneys, judges, court staff, etc. All of these things can give you an advantage in the system. If your case is unique, we will recommend an attorney with the specific experience, and success, to help you get the best outcome possible.
If you are unsure of how to handle a recent traffic violation, or if you're looking for a referral, please contact us. We promise to treat you like family and only refer you to someone we'd hire ourselves.